arter teaching in excellence award

Students – Nominate a current P-H-M staff member who has influenced your educational experience

The Jeneane Arter Teaching in Excellence Award is given to an outstanding current PHM staff member. Students may nominate a staff member by downloading the guidelines linked below and submitting a one-page essay to the PHM Education Foundation.

The winner will receive a $2,000 award, underwritten by Jason and Darla Lippert.

2023 Award Winner Lisa Graves, Grissom Middle School 

Alexandra Banks

2021 Winner

Mrs. Banks’ fifth-grade students at Mary Frank, as well as her co-teacher Erin Horvath, nominated her in 2021, during the height of COVID. Her students loved her laughter and support, and how easy she made things to learn.

Robi Davidson

2019 winner

Mr. Davidson, a music teacher at Walt Disney Elementary, was the 2019 winner. In his essay, fifth grader Sreeja Bhattacharjee says that Mr. Davidson is very patient and explains theory well, all while pushing students to be their best.

Diane bowersox

2018 winner

As a chemistry teacher at Penn High School, Mrs. Bowersox makes chemistry enjoyable. Alyssa McNarney, who nominated Mrs. Bowersox, says that even though chemistry is normally difficult, Mrs. Bowersox makes it easy to learn.