Jeneane Arter Teaching in Excellence Award

2018-19 Nominations are being accepted

The P-H-M Education Foundation is sponsoring the Jeneane Arter Teaching in Excellence Award. The $2,000 award – named after Northpoint Elementary School teacher Jeneane Arter – will be awarded to any current P-H-M staff member who exemplifies excellence in education. The award is underwritten by P-H-M parents Jason and Darla Lippert.

The annual award will be determined based on a current P-H-M student one-page essay of how the P-H-M staff member has made a lasting impact on his/her educational experience. Younger students may have parents/adult help them write the essay, but the essay should be the student’s own words. The essay should contain specific examples of the P-H-M employee’s outstanding service. Please include at the top of the page, the following information:

  • Student’s first and last name
  • School and grade
  • Telephone number and email address (for notification or question purpose)

The nominated P-H-M staff member must be a current employee. The P-H-M Education Foundation will select the recipient of the Jeneane Arter Excellence in Teaching Award through its Grant Committee. The winner will be announced by June 1, 2019.

Essays are due to the ESC by Friday, March 29, 2019, or may be mailed to the P-H-M Education Foundation, attention Jeneane Arter Award, 55900 Bittersweet Road, Mishawaka, IN 46545. The one-page essay should be either typed or hand written. Electronic submissions will not be considered. For additional information or questions, please contact Mari Linn M. Wise, executive director, at (574) 254-2893 or

2017-18 Arter Winner

From left: Darla Lippert; Penn High School Principal Sean Galiher; Penn High School Chemistry teacher Diane Bowersox; and P-H-M Education Foundation Executive Director Mari Linn Wise

On May 31, the P-H-M Education Foundation awarded Penn High School Chemistry teacher Mrs. Diane Bowersox as the recipient of 2018 Jeneane Arter Teaching in Excellence award – named after Northpoint Elementary School teacher Jeneane Arter.

Penn High School Alyssa McNarney wrote in her essay about Mrs. Bowersox, “Chemistry is one of those classes that most people dislike and find very difficult, but with Mrs. Bowersox as a teacher, Chemistry is enjoyable and easy to learn. She does labs, interactive activities, and other games that help you learn. One example is from sophomore year in Chem Honors. We played Jeopardy in class with buzzers. The questions were able orbitals and after that game I am pretty sure that everyone in class could give you orbitals for every element.”

The top four finalists will receive $100. They are: Christine Austin of Walt Disney Elementary; John Gensic of Penn High School; Jeremy McCaskill of Horizon Elementary; Alison Noakes of Elsie Rogers Elementary; and Matt Reininga of Schmucker Middle.

Narrowing all the submitted essays to one recipient was a difficult decision. The P-H-M Education Foundation thanks these outstanding P-H-M staff members for the work, leadership and how you inspire students every day.